Skip to main content
The Tavistock Trust For Aphasia

The Robin Tavistock Award


The Robin Tavistock Award is presented annually to a person, or group, who it is felt, has made a significant contribution in the field of aphasia. This contribution could be for helping people with aphasia, for personally overcoming aphasia, for crucial research work, or for making a financial commitment to aphasia; essentially this award will go to someone or a group who is inspirational and who has made a major difference.


The Robin Tavistock Award 2017

Joanie Scott

Joanie Scott

The Trustees of The Tavistock Trust for Aphasia are delighted to announce that Joanie Scott is the 2017 recipient of The Robin Tavistock Award, and she accepts this Award, representing all those who care for people with aphasia.

This Award is named after Robin Tavistock, the 14th Duke of Bedford who founded The Tavistock Trust for Aphasia. It is given annually to a person or group who is inspiring and who has made a significant contribution to the world of aphasia.

This year the Trustees want to recognise a specific group of people – the people who love, support and care for people with aphasia, but who are often in the background. These are people who, not unlike those with aphasia, are often hidden heroes, whose stories are inspiring.

More importantly, this group of people have over the years, collectively, made the greatest and most significant contribution to the aphasia world.

It is not possible to acknowledge each and every person and we are delighted that Joanie Scott has agreed to accept the Award this year, on her behalf and on behalf of those, past and present, who have dedicated themselves to caring for someone with aphasia.

Joanie would say that she has only done what any loving mother would do but what makes her stand out is that she has gone ‘above and beyond’, not only helping her own daughter but others with aphasia too.

Joanie Scott

Joanie Scott, right, with her husband John and daughter Sarah

Joanie’s daughter, Sarah, had a stroke when she was 18, in 2009, and has aphasia. With the love and support of her mother, her father John and her sister Coralie, as well as friends and other family, she slowly but surely made a remarkable recovery.

Right from the start, Joanie and Sarah thought not only of themselves, but also of helping the wider community. Together they made a series of YouTube videos that are designed describe aphasia and give hope to those who are going through what they’ve experienced. These videos have had approximately a million and a half views to date, and are used in universities around the world to help train medical professionals.

Joanie and Sarah have established an aphasia and stroke self help group in their locality, which still thrives today. They have also made numerous television and radio appearances, raising the profile of aphasia.

Sarah is now leading a full and increasingly independent life. Instead of taking a well-earned rest, and despite the fact that she too suffered a stroke in 2011, Joanie continues to be involved in the aphasia world, trying to support others wherever possible.

Joanie works with a number of aphasia and stroke organisations, always trying to raise the profile of aphasia, particularly through the use of social media. She has spoken at conferences both in the UK and abroad, as well as in schools and businesses. She actively keeps abreast of current developments in aphasia research and is always looking for opportunities to support those who are living with aphasia.

The Tavistock Trust for Aphasia believes it is time to recognise and raise the profile of those who are not professionals but who care, support and contribute so much to the well being of people with aphasia. We are delighted that Joanie Scott, on behalf of the many hidden heroes, is the recipient of The Robin Tavistock Award 2017.

To contact Joanie Scott: T: 01438 717805; E:


The Robin Tavistock Award 2016

Professor Marian Brady

The Tavistock Trust For Aphasia

Marian Brady and Nicole Campbell at IARC, December 2016

The Tavistock Trust For Aphasia

Professor Marian Brady and Henrietta, Duchess of Bedford, October 2016


The Robin Tavistock Award 2015

Gill Pearl and Bury Speakeasy

Speakeasy receives The Robin Tavistock Award

Gill Pearl and Speakeasy receive The Robin Tavistock Award 2015. This is the first time a joint Award has been made. From left to right: Gill Pearl, Chief Executive of Speakeasy, Stephanie Holland, Founder and Trustee of Speakeasy, Henrietta, Duchess of Bedford, The Tavistock Trust for Aphasia, and Jean Wright, Trustee and member of Speakeasy.


The Robin Tavistock Award 2014

Professor Linda Worrall, BSPTHY, PhD

Professor Linda Worrall Professor Linda Worrall

Linda Worrall receives the award from Henrietta Bedford at the University of Queensland, Australia on Friday 28th November 2014.


The Robin Tavistock Award 2013

Professor David Howard


Henrietta Bedford and David Howard with his family. Jane Dammers, Henrietta Bedford, David Howard, Amy Howard & Rosie Dammers.


The Robin Tavistock Award 2012

Professor Pam Enderby, MBE DSC (Hons) PhD MSc FRCSLT

Professor Pam Enderby

Henrietta Bedford with Pam Enderby, her husband Mike Roworth and daughter, Poppy Roworth


The Robin Tavistock Award 2011


Aphasia Institute

including The Pat Arato Aphasia Centre Toronto, Canada

The Tavistock Trust For Aphasia

Aura Kagan and Henrietta Bedford


The Robin Tavistock Award 2010


Professor Chris Code MA PHD FBPSS FRCSLT

The Tavistock Trust For Aphasia

Chris Code and Henrietta Bedford


The Robin Tavistock Award 2009


DR Jenny Dautlich DFPH

The Tavistock Trust For Aphasia

Henrietta Bedford and Jenny Dautlich


The Robin Tavistock Award 2008


Connect - The Communication Disability Network

The Tavistock Trust For Aphasia

Sally Byng and Henrietta Bedford


The Robin Tavistock Award 2007


Professor Jane Marshall

The Tavistock Trust For Aphasia

Henrietta Bedford and Jane Marshall


The inaugural Robin Tavistock Award 2006


Eirian Jones

Eirian Jones, first recipient of the Robin Tavistock Award

Privacy & Cookies | Top of page